USA 2010

Call me Ishmael. Well don’t actually…

Some years ago (when I was about 8 years old) my parents told me we would take a trip over to the US when I was 9. I had an uncle in San Fransisco we could visit. Life being what it is, circumstance prevented this becoming an actuality. 30 or so years later and I still haven’t made it to the US. But for all that time it’s been on my mind that this was a trip I wanted to make. This desire probably has its foundations in all the american  TV shows and films I’ve been watching throughout my life. Odd that I culture I seem to know much about (or at least the Hollywood version of it) is something I’ve never actually seen first hand.

So finally, at the grand old age of 42 I’ll finally get to go. To Miami FLA, not as a holiday as such, but to an academic conference, for about 5 days. I’d been to Canada (Vancouver) about 15 years previously (also for a conference) and while it looks like the US (daft big cars the size of a bus and all the rest), it’s not the same thing – this is the real deal. I have to say my wife is none too pleased with me disappearing off for so long (and I do genuinely feel guilty about leaving her the burden of coping with the kid’s endless daily activities), so I will need to find a really good gift for her while I’m there in order to appease the gods.

So here’s where I’m going to catalogue my epic journey to the place I’ve quite literally dreamt about going to. I fully expect it to be quite under-whelming, ordinary, and bland (this isn’t a trek across uncharted areas of Borneo), just one of those landmark things that you set up for yourself during your life, particularly if you’re heading at full tilt towards a mid-life crisis (I suppose that must be coming soon).

Did you know time moves at the speed of light? Apparently.

About this entry