SEO on the photos

Well, π2.011 has been up for a while now, prices reduced to £4, more web templates added, but still no sales (from UK buyers only at the present). The problems are these: I really haven’t done any link swaps. This may be due to the fact that I haven’t a links page to put a reciprocal site on yet (and I’ve no more room for another menu button). The other problem is the name of the site in html code is “π2.011” which I guess isn’t good for the search engines.

I need to drive traffic to the site and convert the visits to sales. I should have called it “Frozen Toothpaste” or something. I realise I have a knack of naming site thoroughly bad names: Xerxiam, Xeream, ZingCOBOL, Maerex, pi2.011 etc… I guess I’ll have to bite the bullet and rename. And that’s just the beginning of the process.

The whole thing is made harder by the fact that there are loads of photo sites online already. I massively undercut their prices in the cases where you have to pay, but the free sites like http://www.xse.hu have thousands of images (admittedly of varing quality but 90% pretty good). I’m not looking to make millions out of this, just a few quid. Well we’ll see.

About this entry